FaxTerra

Best Free Fax Services

Yes, you can fax online free with no trial and no credit card. What differs is the shape of the allowance: a few 3-page faxes a day, a batch of pages granted once, or pages that come back every month. eFax and iFax are trials, not free tiers. Here are each service’s published limits, side by side.

By FaxTerra · Updated October 2026

4.7
  • "They sent the fax absolutely free. Kudos!" · Dan
  • "No credit card required" · Rob
  • "Receive faxes reliably, all for a great price" · R.A.

Quick answer. Free fax services come in three kinds. A monthly allowance comes back on the 1st, and FaxTerra’s is 10 pages with no card. A sender without an account, like FaxZero, takes up to 5 faxes a day of 3 pages each. Pages granted once are a lifetime total, like Fax.Plus’s 10.

Kinds of free

Monthly allowance

FaxTerra gives every free account 10 pages each calendar month, reset on the 1st, with no per-fax cap and no card.

Without an account

FaxZero sends 5 faxes a day and GotFreeFax 2, each up to 3 pages. FaxFree.net sends up to 4 pages after you watch ads on its site. FaxZero and GotFreeFax hold the fax until you open a confirmation email.

Pages granted once

Fax.Plus gives 10 pages, Fax Burner 5, and Dropbox Fax 5 with up to 20 more for promotional tasks, each as a one-time total.

A trial

eFax and iFax start with a trial that needs a card and bills it when the trial ends unless you cancel first. Neither has a free tier.

Free fax services at a glance

ServiceFree allowancePer-fax capAds or brandingCard requiredDestinationsReceiving
FaxTerra10 pages/month, recurringNo per-fax capNoneNo27 countries, free pages included; a page abroad counts as twoWith a paid plan ($4.99/mo)
FaxZero5 faxes/day3 pages + coverFaxZero logo on cover; sender IP on the faxNoUS & Canada free; paid internationalNo
GotFreeFax2 faxes/day3 pagesNone, free or paidNoUS & Canada free; paid internationalShared public number only
FaxFree.netFree after watching ads4 pages + coverNone on the faxNoUS & CanadaNo
Fax Burner5 pages, one timeWithin the 5-page totalNot statedNoNot stated consistentlyFree: 25 pages/month on a 24-hour number
Fax.Plus10 pages, one timeWithin the 10-page totalNoneNot stated; mobile number verifiedInternationalPaid plans only
Dropbox Fax5 pages, one timeWithin the 5-page totalNoneNoInternational listed on free planPaid plans only
eFaxNone (trial only)n/an/aYes, for the trialInternational on paid plansPaid plans only
iFaxNone (7-day trial only)n/an/aYes, for the trialPaid plansPlus plan and above

How we checked

Every limit on this page was read word for word from the provider’s own live site, terms and FAQ, none of it earlier than August 2026. Other reviews were used only to find those pages, never as the source. The screenshots under each service were captured from its site on 4 October 2026. For what each one prints on the fax itself, see what free fax services put on your pages.

Pick by situation

One short fax today

FaxZero, GotFreeFax or FaxFree.net, all without a signup. GotFreeFax and FaxFree.net state they put nothing on the fax; FaxZero puts its logo on the cover page and, by its own FAQ, your IP address on the fax. FaxFree.net takes 4 pages after you watch ads, the other two take 3.

A document that has to look professional

FaxTerra or Fax.Plus send clean pages free. FaxTerra's allowance recurs monthly; Fax.Plus's 10 pages are once ever. What FaxZero and GotFreeFax put on the page is laid out on our free fax page.

What lands on your pages

You fax a few times a year

A recurring allowance is the difference. FaxTerra resets to 10 pages on the 1st of every month; the one-time allowances run out on the first real errand. Filing with the IRS is the commonest reason people land here.

Faxing the IRS

A fax you need to receive

No free tier gives you a permanent number. Fax Burner's free account receives up to 25 pages a month on a number that lasts 24 hours, and GotFreeFax has one shared public number whose incoming list everyone sees, which they warn against using for sensitive documents. A number that stays yours is what fax services charge for; FaxTerra includes one with any paid plan from $4.99/month, and a 90-day one-time number exists for a single expected fax-back.

What a fax number costs

International destination

Most free tiers are US and Canada only. FaxTerra's free pages reach all 27 supported countries, a page abroad counting as two; Fax.Plus's one-time pages reach international numbers, and Dropbox Fax lists international coverage on its free plan.

Each service in detail

FaxTerra

Free tier, 10 pages a month

The free tier of a full fax service: 10 free pages every calendar month, resetting on the 1st, with no credit card, no ads, no watermarks, and no per-fax cap.

Fits. Anyone sending a document where a clean page matters, and anyone who faxes more than once.

The limit. A page outside the US and Canada counts double against the free allowance, sending needs a free account, and receiving needs a paid plan. Credit packs start at $1.99 for 10 pages.

FaxZero

Free, 5 faxes a day without an account

5 free faxes a day, each up to 3 pages, plus a cover page carrying the FaxZero logo and slogan that does not count toward the limit. The $3.29-per-fax paid option removes the branding and raises the cap to 25 pages.

Fits. A quick one-off of a page or two with no signup at all, which is the thing they genuinely do best.

The limit. Their FAQ states that your name, company, email address and IP address are printed on the fax itself, the free cap is 3 pages, a confirmation email has to be opened before anything sends, and there is no receiving.

FaxZero's homepage, captured 4 October 2026, offering free faxes to anywhere in the U.S. and Canada

GotFreeFax

Free, 2 faxes a day without an account

2 free faxes a day, up to 3 pages each. Their FAQ states they add no ads and no branding to the fax, free or paid, and put the advertising on their web site and in the confirmation email instead. The paid option is $1.25 per fax for up to 10 pages, and prepaid pages that never expire run cheaper per page than our packs.

Fits. Short one-off faxes with a clean page and no signup, and cheap prepaid sending in bulk.

The limit. The free cap is 2 faxes a day of 3 pages, PayPal is the only payment method named on their site, the file-format list is narrow, and the only receiving they offer is one shared public number whose inbound list anyone can view.

GotFreeFax's free fax service panel, captured 4 October 2026, listing 3 pages per fax and 2 free faxes per day

FaxFree.net

Free after ads, 4 pages a fax

Watch ads on their site, then send up to 4 pages without paying, plus a cover page that does not count toward the limit. They state that nothing is added to the fax: no watermarks, logos or ads.

Fits. A short fax to a US or Canada number, sent clean and without signing up.

The limit. Free sends stop at 4 pages, the ads come before the send, destinations are US and Canada only, longer faxes are paid, and there is no receiving.

FaxFree.net's homepage offer, captured 4 October 2026, advertising free sends of up to 4 pages

Fax Burner

Free, 5 pages once

A free account sends 5 pages in total and receives up to 25 pages a month on a free number that lasts 24 hours. Upgrading to a paid plan makes the number permanent. It works from the web, email, or their iPhone app, with no card.

Fits. Receiving a fax free when the sender will use the number the same day.

The limit. The 5 sending pages are a lifetime total, and the free number is replaced every 24 hours, so it cannot serve as a number you give out.

Fax Burner's free fax page, captured 4 October 2026, stating no credit card is required

Fax.Plus

Free, 10 pages once

10 free pages with a free account, sent clean. The allowance is a lifetime total, not monthly.

Fits. A one-time batch of up to 10 clean pages, including international destinations.

The limit. Claiming the pages needs a verified mobile number from the same country you are browsing from. Once the 10 pages are used they never come back; the next fax needs a subscription (Basic is $6.99/month).

Fax.Plus's free fax page, captured 4 October 2026, offering a free account with no credit card and no subscription

Dropbox Fax

Free, 5 pages once

5 free pages with an account, sent clean, with up to 20 more available through promotional actions like sharing. The free plan lists international coverage.

Fits. A short one-off if you already live in the Dropbox ecosystem.

The limit. The 5 pages are one-time, earning more means completing promo tasks, and paid plans start at $9.99/month.

eFax

Trial, card required

No free tier. eFax offers a trial rather than free faxing, and a card is required to start it.

Fits. Nobody looking for free faxing. Its paid plans compete on brand recognition and country coverage.

The limit. Plans start at $18.99/month, every full or partial 60 seconds of transmission can count as a page under its published terms, and their cancel page routes annual plans to an agent rather than the self-serve flow.

eFax's free fax page, captured 4 October 2026, with a button to start a free 7-day trial

iFax

Trial, card required

No free tier. iFax offers a 7-day trial of its Pro plan and asks for a card to start it.

Fits. Someone who already expects to pay for a fax plan and wants to try one first.

The limit. Their terms charge the subscription automatically when the trial ends unless you cancel before the seventh day, and receiving needs the Plus plan or above.

What happens when free runs out

A monthly allowance

FaxTerra's 10 pages come back on the 1st. Until then, a credit pack covers the gap from $1.99 for 10 pages, and credits never expire.

A daily cap without an account

FaxZero and GotFreeFax let you send again the next day. A longer fax goes to their paid send, which at FaxZero is $3.29 per fax.

Pages granted once

The pages never come back. At Fax.Plus and Fax Burner the next fax needs a paid plan, from $6.99/month at Fax.Plus. Dropbox Fax adds pages for promotional tasks, then a paid plan.

A trial

eFax and iFax bill the card you started the trial with when it ends, unless you cancel first.

Common questions

Is there a truly free fax service?

Yes, though the limits differ in shape. FaxTerra gives 10 pages every month with no per-fax cap. FaxZero (5 faxes a day) and GotFreeFax (2 a day) send up to 3 pages at a time without an account. Fax.Plus, Fax Burner and Dropbox Fax each give a batch of pages once. eFax and iFax are trials that need a card, so they are not free tiers.

What is the best free fax service?

It depends on the job. For a one-off page or two with no signup, FaxZero and GotFreeFax both work, though only GotFreeFax leaves the document unmarked. For clean pages with an account, FaxTerra sends 10 free pages every month and Fax.Plus sends 10 pages once per account. For anything recurring, an allowance that resets beats one that does not.

Is there a truly free fax service with no ads?

Yes, and we are not the only one. FaxTerra's free tier adds nothing to your fax: no ads, no watermarks, no service branding, 10 pages a month recurring. GotFreeFax states the same of theirs, free or paid, on a tighter 2-faxes-a-day allowance, and FaxFree.net states it adds no watermarks, logos or ads to the fax. Fax.Plus and Dropbox Fax also send clean pages, but as one-time allowances. FaxZero is the one that brands the cover page.

Which free fax services require no signup?

FaxZero, GotFreeFax and FaxFree.net send with no signup at all. The trade-offs are a cap of 3 or 4 pages, no sent history, since nothing exists to keep your delivery record in, and at FaxZero and GotFreeFax a confirmation email you have to open before the fax goes. FaxZero adds its branding to the cover page and prints the sender's IP on the fax. FaxTerra, Fax.Plus, Fax Burner and Dropbox Fax use free accounts, which is where your confirmations and history live.

Can any free fax service receive faxes?

Some do, but none gives you a number to keep. Fax Burner's free account receives up to 25 pages a month on a number that lasts 24 hours, and GotFreeFax offers one shared public number whose incoming list everyone can see. A permanent number that answers every call and stores what arrives is the standing cost fax services charge for. FaxTerra includes a dedicated number and inbox with any paid plan from $4.99/month. See what a free fax number gets you for the receive side.

Is eFax free?

No. eFax offers a card-required trial that charges the card when it expires, and its paid plans start at $18.99/month. If free faxing is the goal, the services with real free tiers are the ones above.

Is iFax free?

No. iFax offers a 7-day trial of its Pro plan, and starting it needs a card. Their terms charge the subscription automatically when the trial ends unless you cancel first.

More guides: what a free fax number gets you · FaxZero vs FaxTerra · comparing the paid fax services · where to fax in person, and what the counter charges

Send your first fax free

10 free pages a month to any supported country. No credit card, no ads, no watermarks.

Resets on the 1st of every month